Meet a Settlement Worker

MEET A SETTLEMENT WORKER

BUILDING A WELCOMING COMMUNITY

Our settlement workers have supported thousands of newcomers in identifying their needs and making a plan for settling in Hamilton. From housing to healthcare, settlement workers are here to support you as you build a new future in Hamilton. They also offer information sessions on key settlement topics each month. Services are free for permanent residents.

Our settlement workers speak English and one or more of the following languages:

Arabic
French
Nubian
Bosnian
Kirundi
Somali
Cambodian
Kurdish
Spanish
Cantonese
Mandarin
Swahili
How can we help you today

MEET OUR SETTLEMENT TEAM


Ahlam Mohammed
Ahlam Mohammed (Arabic)
Family Settlement Counsellor
EAST HAMILTON Site – 160 Centennial Pkwy N.
905-662-9160 x 223
amohammed@IWCHamilton.ca

Asha Bogor
Asha Bogor (Somali)
Family Settlement Counsellor
REBECCA Site – 182 Rebecca Street
905-525-9676 x 224
abogor@IWCHamilton.ca

Bothaina Mohamed
Bothaina Mohamed (Arabic)
Family Settlement Counsellor
MOUNTAIN Site – 1119 Fennell Ave East #236
905-387-1100 x 224
bmohamed@IWCHamilton.ca
Jane Sumwiza
Jane Sumwiza (Swahili, Kinyarwanda, Kirundi)
Family Settlement Counsellor
MAIN Site – 8 Main Street East #101
905-529-5209 x 236
jsumwiza@IWCHamilton.ca
Lina El-Ali
Lina El-Ali (Arabic)
Family Settlement Counsellor
REBECCA Site – 182 Rebecca Street
905-525-9676 x 228
lelali@IWCHamilton.ca
Nada Tuta
Nada Tuta (Spanish, Serbian, Croatian, Bosnian)
Family Settlement Counsellor
MOUNTAIN Site – 1119 Fennell Ave East #236
905-387-1100 x 226
ntuta@IWCHamilton.ca

Phoebe Michael
Phoebe Michael (Arabic)
Family Settlement Counsellor
MAIN Site – 8 Main Street East #101
905-529-5209 x 227
pmichael@IWCHamilton.ca
Vicky Thind
Vicky Thind (Hindi, Bengali, Punjabi)
Family Settlement Counsellor
EAST HAMILTON Site – 160 Centennial Pkwy N.
905-662-9160 x 222
vthind@IWCHamilton.ca

Vivyan
Vivyan Salih (Arabic, Kurdish)
Family Settlement Counsellor
MAIN Site – 8 Main Street East #101
905-529-5209 x 247
vsalih@IWCHamilton.ca
Wendy Johnson
Wendy Portillo Johnson (Spanish)
Family Settlement Counsellor
MOUNTAIN Site – 1119 Fennell Ave East #236
905-387-1100 x 223
wjohnson@IWCHamilton.ca

What to expect when you see a Settlement Worker

On your first visit with a settlement worker, he or she will:

  • ask you to fill in a registration form. You will need your PR number for this;
  • talk with you about your needs; and
  • provide answers to your settlement questions and refer you to useful programs and services.