fbpx
 

Meet a Settlement Worker

MEET A SETTLEMENT WORKER

BUILDING A WELCOMING COMMUNITY

Our settlement workers have supported thousands of newcomers in identifying their needs and making a plan for settling in Hamilton. From housing to healthcare, settlement workers are here to support you as you build a new future in Hamilton. They also offer information sessions on key settlement topics each month. Services are free for permanent residents.

Our settlement workers speak English and one or more of the following languages:

Arabic
French
Nubian
Bosnian
Kirundi
Somali
Cambodian
Kurdish
Spanish
Cantonese
Mandarin
Swahili
How can we help you today

MEET OUR SETTLEMENT TEAM


Ahlam Mohammed
Ahlam Mohammed (Arabic)
Family Settlement Counsellor
amohammed@IWCHamilton.ca

Asha Bogor
Asha Bogor (Somali)
Family Settlement Counsellor
abogor@IWCHamilton.ca

Bothaina Mohamed
Bothaina Mohamed (Arabic)
Family Settlement Counsellor
bmohamed@IWCHamilton.ca
Jane Sumwiza
Jane Sumwiza (Swahili, Kinyarwanda, Kirundi)
Family Settlement Counsellor
jsumwiza@IWCHamilton.ca
Phoebe Michael
Phoebe Michael (Arabic)
Family Settlement Counsellor
pmichael@IWCHamilton.ca
Vicky Thind
Vicky Thind (Hindi, Bengali, Punjabi)
Family Settlement Counsellor
vthind@IWCHamilton.ca

Vivyan
Vivyan Salih (Arabic, Kurdish)
Family Settlement Counsellor
vsalih@IWCHamilton.ca
Wendy Johnson
Wendy Portillo Johnson (Spanish)
Family Settlement Counsellor
wjohnson@IWCHamilton.ca

What to expect when you see a Settlement Worker

On your first visit with a settlement worker, he or she will:

  • ask you to fill in a registration form. You will need your PR number for this;
  • talk with you about your needs; and
  • provide answers to your settlement questions and refer you to useful programs and services.